top of page

How I Became A Wedding Videographer!

Updated: Mar 7, 2019

March 6 2019 - Personal



I have gotten the question pretty frequently, “How did you become a Wedding Videographer” So after thinking about it, I decided I wanted to share my journey with you, the journey that led me to pursue a career that I absolutely love.





Let me first, tell you up front that I honestly never imagined myself as a wedding videographer.

However, growing up I did always love filming things.

When I was little I would walk around filming everything with a a camera.

In high school I loved taking Broadcasting and creating videos for my church.

I would also spend SO much spare time downloading TV Show and Movie clips and creating my own music videos for them.

Fast Forward, and when it came to graduate from high school I honestly didn’t know what I wanted to major in, or if I even wanted to attend college.

I knew I wanted to do something creative and I knew I would love for it to involve film.

So I began looking into different Art Universities around the nation and ultimately decided to take a year off.

Well… that year some how and very quickly turned into 3 years…


At that point, I realized I wasn't anywhere near doing what I truly wanted to be doing with my life.

Which at that time, I wanted to be involved in directing Music Videos and I was working in retail.

One day on a lunch break at work, I began googling Art Schools again…

I went home and had a strong urge to apply to the Academy of Art University in San Francisco.

Honestly, it was probably God nudging me, or giving a good shove from behind.

So later on, I sent in my application and along with it, I entered a contest, for a small creative grant where you entered a piece of literature that went along with what you wanted to major in;

I wrote a script for a music video.

I took the lyrics from “Hell on an Angel” by Brantley Gilbert and created an entire music video scene with more detail then I knew I could write.

I remember working on it for days and holding my breathe as I submitted everything.


It wasn’t but a few weeks later I not only received my acceptance letter to the Academy of Art University but I had won the grant as well.

So me being my 21 year old self took my favorite lyrics from that song and on my inner left arm is a tattoo that reads: “It Takes An Angel To Fly With A Free Bird”.


I attended school online for a year and half, while working full time without a spare moment to breathe!

I quickly became over whelmed, and sadly I ended up quitting school and life went on with those dreams of being involved in film on the back burner once again.

I had a decent job, amazing family and friends, and I was content.

I met my now husband, we got engaged and married, a whole story for another day…

In the midst of this time I ended up getting asked to film a friends wedding ceremony, and that led to me volunteering to do another friends wedding because I wanted to learn some more, and I loved being behind that camera.

Well these two weddings led to one of my sisters friends asking if I had interest in filming her wedding, which led to another individual inquiring about there wedding after seeing that video.

So I started researching wedding videography...

I started watching videos and soaking up anything and everything I could about the wedding video industry.

I offered to shoot yet another wedding for free, I know, I know …

But you want to know what happened from those free gigs? I loved it. Every single minute of it.

I loved the fact that I could use a camera to let people re live something so important.

I was using my abilities and talents I had learned over the years to create a short film.

There was such a story to be told in the few hours I spent with these couples and I began to consider how I could continue to do this.


I would love to sit here and tell you how it has been a huge journey to get to where I am but honestly it has simply all fallen right into place right before my eyes.

When God closes one door he doesn’t just crack open a new one, he blasts that door WIDE OPEN.

Now please do not take that the wrong way, it hasn’t been overnight success, there have been so so many steps, all behind the scenes that people don't see.

One day I created a business Facebook page.

Then after awhile I created a website.

And then after receiving at least one booking for each month for the upcoming year, and with the support and MAJOR encouragement from my husband, I decided to really give it a go and try and make this my career.

So I took a giant leap, I quit my full time job and began on this new journey.

My first year in actual business was 2017.

And believe it or not I filmed exactly 17 weddings.

My second year, 2018 I filmed 32 weddings.

I learned so much during this time, I was able to upgrade equipment, and meet so many incredible vendors, and now my third year, 2019 has just begun and I have a fully booked season with 2020 filling up faster then I can believe.


I have learned so much and honestly connecting with couples and shooting there story is just something that truly warms my heart.

I love meeting new people and using my talent to create a film that allows to re live this special time.

Looking back on my past and everything combined, it’s easy to see why I truly love doing this so much.

I made a change and now I wake up and I am truly excited to a job I feel I am called to do.

I cannot wait to keep learning and keep advancing in this business as time continues on.


My advice? If you have a passion, follow it ! ! !

Find something you truly love to do.

Take a good long at yourself and what you love to do as a hobby or in your extra time.

Then put it in God’s hands but at that same time, work your butt off to make it happen.

Dreams don’t come true unless you have the persistence to make them happen.

Set goals, and chase after God’s calling for your life, work on your passions and you will truly find your hearts calling ! ! !

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
IMG_3016.JPG
IMG_2942.JPG
KailinaE_ENP-7.jpg
Kailina-16.jpg
IMG_2984.JPG
KailinaE_ENP-45.jpg
KailinaE_ENP-68.jpg
Kailina-39.jpg
IMG_4838.JPG
IMG_1513_edited.png
KailinaE_ENP-35.jpg
IMG_5753.JPG
bottom of page